Growing Weed: A Guide to State Growing Laws
Growing weed in the United States can be tricky. Each state has their own rules and regulations surrounding the cultivation of cannabis. Depending on your status as a medical marijuana patient, or even which state you are resident in, the rules can change. We’ve compiled this guide to help you get your head around state growing laws.
Way up north, Alaska allows adults over the age of 21 to grow up to 6 plants in total. Like many other states in this guide, Alaska law states that no more than 3 of these plants can be mature. The distinction between mature and immature has been confusing to a lot of growers. A mature plant is generally considered to be one that is flowering from which you can harvest usable buds.
A common theme in state law is the position of caregivers. In Arizona, medical marijuana patients or their qualified caregiver can grow up to 12 plants. However, this is based on where a person lives. Cultivation is only permitted if a person lives more than 25 miles away from the nearest dispensary.
In California, we’ve seen weed dynamics change over the past few years. Currently, adults over the age of 21 are allowed to cultivate up to 6 plants per residence. Medical marijuana patients have a little more, with the rule being 6 mature plants or 12 immature plants. This also goes for caregivers of medical marijuana patients.
Colorado allows any adult to have up to 6 plants per person. Only 3 of these plants can be mature. Although the law specifies 6 plants per person, it’s important to remember that the law also sets the limit at 12 plants per resident. This is regardless of how many people are living at any given residence. Unlike many other states, these laws are restricted to Colorado residents only. Anyone growing cannabis must keep it out of sight and in a locked, closed space.
District of Columbia
Growing weed in the District of Columbia is similar to many other states. The law limits adults over the age of 21 to 6 plants per residence. District of Columbia law also states that only 3 of these 6 plants can be mature.
Hawaii was the first state to legalize medical marijuana through the state legislature in 2000. Registered patients on the medical marijuana program are allowed 7 plants in total.
Maine is seen to be one of the most lenient states when it comes to growing weed. People are allowed to grow 6 mature plants and 12 immature plants as well as an unlimited number of seedlings. This applies to Maine residents for their own personal use. When comparing this to many other states, the law seems to be more forgiving than elsewhere in the United States.
As long as your plants are not visible to the general public, you can grow up to 6 mature plants in Massachusetts. These plants must be for personal use only.
In Michigan, if you are considered a caregiver you can grow 12 plants for every patient you have under state law. You must have a registry identification card and plants must be grown in an enclosed, locked space.
You must be a registered cardholder in Montana to grow weed. Cardholders are allowed to grow up to 4 mature plants and 12 seedlings.
If you’re more than 25 miles away from your nearest dispensary, you’re allowed to grow up to 6 plants in your private residence. If you’re a registered medical marijuana patient, this number goes up to 12. Nevada state law doesn’t distinguish between mature and immature plants.
Growing weed in New Mexico requires you to apply for something called a Personal Production License. With the license, patients can grow 4 mature plants and 12 seedlings at any given time. The license must be displayed on or near the growing site.
Similar to Nevada, a patient in North Dakota can grow up to 8 plants depending on how far away they live from the nearest dispensary. In North Dakota, it’s 40 miles rather than the required 25 in Arizona!
Oregon is another state that makes the distinction between recreational and medical users. Whilst recreational consumers can have up to 4 plants per residence, medical marijuana patients can have up to 6. It is worth noting that if you’re growing weed as a registered medical marijuana patient, it must be grown at a registered address.
Provided you have a registry identification card, Rhode Island state law allows you to grow up to 12 plants. These plants do have to be kept in an indoor facility.
Registered patients in Vermont are allowed 2 mature plants and 7 immature plants.
Medical marijuana authorization is required if you want to grow weed in Washington state. Qualified patients can grow up to 6 plants in their own residences. These plants have to be used for personal medical use.
The Easiest Way to Buy Weed
Growing marijuana not your thing? With options for delivery or pickup, greenRush has you covered. Start your order today to get your weed delivered straight to you.